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Utah AMBER Alert Plan

Administered through the Department of Public
Safety, Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification




Utah AMBER Alert Plan Background:

e Utah adopted the AMBER Alert plan April 2, 2002.
e Originally known as Rachael Alert.
e First Rachael Alert June 5, 2002.

e Utah was the 5 state to adopt a statewide plan.

e 73 AMBER Alerts.




Utah AMBER Alert Protocol:

e C(riteria is met.
e Law enforcement authorization.
e Contact DPS CIC help desk before submitting alert.

o Mandatory

e UAA transaction on UCJIS entered by agency or dispatch center.

AMBER Alert transmitted.




Utah AMBER Alert Criteria:

e Law enforcement believes it is a child abduction?
e 17 years of age or younger?

e Imminent danger, serious bodily injury or death?

e Agency has enough information to assist the public in the
safe recovery of the victim or apprehension of the suspect?




Utah Criminal Justice

Information System Close All

UCJIS Home

Favorites
Person
Vehicle
Article
Gun

©Messaging {<——3

NLETS
———) BLOCAL

Broadcast Messages
BCI Functions

Logs

MOTD

C——) oAkrs
o UAA- UAAAmber Alert
o UAAM - Amber Alert Modify }
» ESA - Endangered Silver Advisory
« EMA - Endangered Missing Advisory
» EBA- Blue Alert

» UHS - UHS Utah Homeland Security Msg
ESAM - Endangered Silver Advisory Modify

New Broadcast Messag|

New Broadcast Message

| Notice

Agencies must contact BCI at 801-503-5566 prior to issuing a Utah AMBER Alert. WEA messages

are disabled between 10 PM and 7 AM.

Black-out Window
e Request has to be submitted
through CIC or AMBER Alert
coordinators for WEA messages to

be sent out if alert is between 10:00
PM-7:00 AM).




UCJIS Home = UAAL x

Query

Utah Amber Alert

Authorization

ORL:*

Contact phone number:*

Authorizing Administrator: *

WEA messages are disabled between 10 PM and 7 AM.
Current time is NOT within blackout window - WEA message WILL be sent!

CT PHONE NUMBER

ENTER AUTHORIZING ADMINISTRATOR

* Do NOT activate an AMBER ALERT if the answer is NO to any of these questions.

** The alert is not to be used for cases involving custodial disputes or runaways that don't meet the criteria.

*** This message will immediately go to law enforcement, the media, and the public.

OYes | ®No Is this believed to be a child abduction?:*

OvYes | ®No Is this child 17 years of age or younger?: *

OYes | ®No Is the victim believed to be facing imminent danger, bodily harm or death?:*

OYes | ®No Is there information that could assist the public in the safe recovery of the victim or apprehension of a

suspect?:*

Agency Information:

e Agency phone number
should be a number the
media and public can
contact.

e Authorizing

administrator will be the
person responsible for
authorizing the AMBER
Alert.

® c.g. Lieutenant, Chief or
Sheriff.




Abduction Information

Date and time should be the exact time
of the abduction.

o If abduction time is not known, please
use earliest believed abduction time
possible.

o AM/PM has been added and no
military time can be entered now.

Abduction location should never be
the exact physical address or location
of the abduction.

NIC # 1is not mandatory, but the
abducted child should already be
entered into NCIC.

Caution would pertain to the suspect
or POL.

Abduction Information

Non Family OYes
Abduction:
ONo
Abduction Date MMDDYYYY HH v MM
Time: *

Abduction City Location: *

Caution:

ENTER ABDUCTION LOCATION

ENTER CAUTION

v




Victim Information

To add additional victims, use the plus button on the right

Victim
Name:* ENTER NAME Date of ENTER DOB MM(
Birth:
Age ENTERAGE Height: * (FEET)
(years): o
(INCHES)
v
Weight: * ENTER WEIGHT Eye Color: v
Hair Color: v Race:* v
Gender of v
Victim: *
Clothing: ENTER CLOTHING

Medical Needs: ENTER NEEDS

Choose File | No file chosen

Victim Information

All descriptors are NCIC format.
DOB and/or age is required but not both.

o When DOB is not known but there is an
approximate age then you would use AGE
field.

Name format is first name last name e.g.
Yogi Bear.
Special needs and clothing are free text.

o Do not use “Last seen in”.

Special needs would describe medications,
disabilities or other life threatening issues
for the victim.
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button on the right

Type:

Date of
Birth:

Height:

Race:

Clothing:

Marks:

Image:

Suspect / Person of Interest Information

v

ENTERDOB !

(FEET)

(INCHES)

ENTER CLOTHING

ENTER MARK

%

Choose File |No file chosen

To add additional suspects / persons of interest, use the plus

Suspect

Name:

Age
(years):

Weight:

Eye
Color:

Hair
Color:

Gender:

—y -

ENTER NAME

ENTER AGE

ENTER WEIG

v

Suspect Information

All descriptors are NCIC format.

Name does not have to be known.

DOB and/or age is required but not both.

o If DOB is not known but there is an
approximate age use AGE field.

Descriptors are NCIC format.

Clothing is free text.

o Do not use “Unknown clothing”, if
unknown, leave field empty.

Identifying marks may include all SMT’s

or additional features.
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Remarks Field

e Up to 500 characters for all
pertinent information regarding
the AMBER Alert

e Make sure to add the name of your
agency

® Free text

Required field

Remarks

Remarks:

ENTER REMARKS




Dissemination

Save Amber Alert {(UCJIS Database)™*

UCJIS Alert Message (Law Enforcement) ™

DPS Email List (DPS Admin)*

Back up Emergeny Alert System E-mail (Media)*

FEMAJ/IPAWS Emergency Alert System (Media -» Radio/TV)™"

FEMAJIPAWS Wireless Emergency Alert System (Public -> Cell Phones)*

Amber Alert Web Page (Public)™

DPS Twitter Accounts (Public)™

DPS Facebook Accounts (Public)*

Banner on utah.gov websites *

Dissemination Screen

Pre selected fields cannot be
changed, they are only there to
show who and where AMBER

Alert will be disseminated to.




AMBER Alert: Modify and Cancel

@ Transaction: UAAM

e FEach agency is responsible for entering, modifying, and canceling their own
AMBER Alert.

o If for any reason you are unable to modify or cancel the Alert, please
contact CIC for assistance @ 801-965-4446.

e Use the remarks field to update the cancellation e.g. “The AMBER Alert for
is being cancelled. Child has been located safely. Thank you™.

o This is required”

e When you click cancel, a notice will appear at the top of the screen asking you if
you are sure you want to cancel the alert.

Q Modify

Q Cancel i Preview




NCIC Entry

e The abducted child should be entered into NCIC .
o It is not mandatory before issuing the AMBER Alert.

e CA (child abduction) should be added in the MNP field until the AMBER
Alert is issued.

o Once issued it should be modified to AA.

o The caveat will read: AMBER Alert issued for this child.
e Suspect is always to be listed as Wanted, not Missing.

o If you do not have a warrant for the Suspect, enter them using the Temporary
Felony option.




NLETS
Out of State AMBER Alert Request

o DPSCIC are the only one that can send an NLETS AMBER Alert.

o If the Suspect or Person of Interest may travel out of state call
DPSCIC at 801-965-4446 and request they issue an NLETS
AMBER Alert to surrounding states or nationwide.




No Law Enforcement sensitive information should be added
to the AMBER Alert e.g. social security numbers, addresses,
sexual orientation, driver's license numbers or criminal
history, if such information needs to be shared please use a
broadcast message to share between agencies.




¥
" Quick Agency Reminders

Mandatory to call DPS CIC at 801.503.5566 and notify BCI that an AMBER

Alert is being issued before the alert is sent out.
o This number is for AMBER Alerts only.

Each agency is responsible for entering, modifying and canceling their own
Alert through UCJIS.

Only pertinent information that will assist the media and the public in the
recovery should be added to the AMBER Alert.

Alert will stay active until it is cancelled, it does not automatically expire.

Agency must agree to meet with AMBER Alert Committee after for a
review.






Endangered Missing Advisory Alert

e Disseminates to media and law enforcement.

e Missing or Endangered persons that do not meet AMBER
criteria.

e Endangered missing person of any age that requires urgency
due to the circumstance.




EMA Guidelines

e Person is missing.
o Family believes circumstances are suspicious.

e Person in danger.
Age.
Health.

Environment.

Mental Disability.

Weather conditions.

In the company of a dangerous person.

O O O O O O




Qualifying Endangered Persons

e Internet enticed.
e Adult Abduction (18yrs old+)

e Missing college students.
e Persons that have wandered away from care facilities.

e Overdue travelers (weather).

e Autistic individuals.




Endangered Missing Advisory Protocol

e Contact DPSCIC at 801-965-4446 to let them know the
EMA is being issued/cancelled.

e Your EMA will go out to all law enforcement so you can add
any and all information that they may need.




EMA Dissemination

e All Utah law enforcement receive the EMA.
e Media signed up will receive it.

e No TOC signs.

o TOC will activate signs if
warranted/serious.

e No email or cell phones will be activated.




Have you heard of the Ashanti Alert Act?

The Nation Ashanti Alert Act is named in honor of Ashanti Billie, who was
abducted and killed in 2017. Ashanti Alerts provide for rapid dissemination
of information to law enforcement agencies, media, and the public about
adults who have been reported missing, along with suspect information in
cases of suspected abduction.

Utah does not have an Ashanti Alert, but the EMA alert is equivalent, meets
and exceeds the criteria.




Questions?

Ofa - ovaisima@utah.gov

Alex - mmartinez@utah.gov




