AMBER Alert



Utah AMBER Alert Plan

Administered through the Department of
Public Safety, Utah Bureau of Criminal
|dentification.




Utah AMBER Plan Background

e Utah adopted the AMBER Alert plan April 2, 2002.

e Originally known as Rachael Alert.
o Changed to AMBER on April 11th, 2003.

o First AMBER (Rachael at the time) Alert June 5, 2002.
o Utah was the 5" state to adopt a statewide plan.
e 69 AMBER Alerts.



Rachel Marie Runyan

Kidnapped on August 26, 1982 in
Sunset, Utah.

Rachael’s body was found 24 days later
in Weber Canyon.

Abduction and murder remain unsolved.
Rachael Runyan Award honors Utah

citizens who help in recovery of an
abducted child.



AMBER Alert Protocol

e Must meet criteria.
o Confidently answer yes to all 4 questions.
e law enforcement authorization.

e (ontact DPS CIC help desk before submitting alert.
o Will need to provide point of contact information for AMBER ALert
Coordinator to reach out.

o Mandatory!
e UAA transaction on UCJIS entered by agency or dispatch center.

e AMBER Alert transmitted.



Criteria: Must answer YES to all 4

e law enforcement believes it is a child abduction?
o Forcibly taken against their will.
o Taken by NON-Custodial parent (must meet all criteria and not a custody dispute).

e 17 years of age or younger?
e [mminent danger, serious bodily injury or death?
o Enough reason to believe child could face death or harm within a short time.

e law Enforcement has enough descriptive information to assist the public in the safe
recovery of the victim or apprehension of the suspect?

o Victims/Suspect name, description etc.



Utah AMBER Alert: Entry

UAA
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WEA Reminder

VLAY vaueaot lvu.'aang\.'

Notice

Agencies must contact BCI at 801-503-5566 prior to issuing a Utah AMBER Alert. WEA messages

| are disabled between 10 PM and 7 AM

e Request has to be submitted through CIC or AMBER Alert coordinators

for WEA messages during “Blackout window” (10:00 PM-7:00 AM).
o Do not wait for it to be approved to send out alert.



Agency Information

e Agency phone number
should be a number the
media and public can
contact.

e Authorizing
administrator will be
the person responsible
for authorizing the
AMBER Alert.

o eg. Lieutenant,
Chief or Sheriff.

UCJIS Home = UAAL x

Query
Utah Amber Alert

WEA messages are disabled between 10 PM and 7 AM.
Current time is NOT within blackout window - WEA message WILL be sent!

Authorization
ORI:*
Contact phone number:*
Authorizing Administrator: *
* Do NOT activate an AMBER ALERT if the answer is NO to any of these questions.

** The alert is not to be used for cases involving custodial disputes or runaways that don't meet the criteria.

*** This message will immediately go to law enforcement, the media, and the public.

OYes | ®No Is this believed to be a child abduction?:*

Is this child 17 years of age or younger?: *

Is the victim believed to be facing imminent danger, bodily harm or death?:*

Is there information that could assist the public in the safe recovery of the victim or apprehension of a
suspect?:*




Abduction Information

e [ate and time should be the exact time

of the abduction.

o If abduction time is not known, please use earliest
believed abduction time possible.

o AM/PM has been added and no military time can
be entered now.

e Abduction location should never be the
exact physical address or location of the
abduction.

e NIC #is not mandatory, but the
abducted child should already be entered
into NCIC.

o g%lljtion would pertain to the suspect or

Abduction Date
Time: *

Abduction City
Location: *
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Utah AMBER Alert Issued

Ne Family Abduction

No.1r Family Abduction




Victim Information

e All descriptors are NCIC format.

e DOB and/or age is required but not both.
o When DOB is not known but there is an approximate age then you would

use AGE field.

e Name format is first name last name e.g. Yogi Bear.

e Special needs and clothing are free text.
o Do not use “Last seen in”.

e Special needs would describe medications, disabilities or other life
threatening issues for the victim.



Victim Information

To add additional victims, use the plus button on the right
Victim

Date of
Birth:

If multiple
children are
g [ involved, please
- add individual

information for
each child.

Clothing:

Medical
Needs:

Image:

| Choose File | No file chosen

= 1




Suspect or POl Information

e Name does not have to be known.
e DOB and/or age is required but not both.
o |f DOB is not known but there is an approximate age use AGE field.
e Descriptors are NCIC format.
e Clothing is free text.
o Do not use “Unknown clothing”, if unknown, leave that empty.
e |dentifying marks may include all SMT’s or additional features.



Suspect / Person of Interest Information

To add additional suspects / persons of interest, use the plus
button on the right

Suspect

Type: Name:

Date of Age
Birth: (years):

Height: (FEET) Weight:

Eye

(INCHES) Color:

Hair
Color:

Race: Gender:

Clothing:

Marks:

Image:

[ Choose File | No file chosen

o

Multiple
suspects/POl

can also be
added.



Vehicle Information

e |Ifapartial plate is all that is known you can
add the PP,

e |[f there is no additional descriptors
available on the vehicle utilize the identifier
field for dents, dings, cracked windshield
etc.

e The vehicle information is the first piece of
information that is shown on an AMBER
Alert.

e Avoid using abbreviations.

Vehicle Information

To add additional vehicles, use the plus button on the right

Vehicle

Avoid Abbreviationsl

Avoid Abbreviations!

[ Choose File | No file chosen

"1

Avoid Abbreviations!




Remarks Field

e Up to 500 characters for all pertinent

information regarding the AMBER

Ale rt. Remarks

o Please specify or provide as much detail Do
information as to what kind of imminent
danger the child is in.

e Make sure to add the name of your

agency.
e free text.
e Required field.




Remarks Field Sample:

AWARDED CUSTODY IN COURT
RRANT TO E

ID REFUSED TO TURN O

CHILDREN.

HEARING THIS #
MOTHER
DREN TO
BE IN D

MORNING
D WITH
C

I ENFORCEMENT HAS CREDIBL

E

Do’s

ER ALERT HAS BEEN

CHILDREN HAVE BEEN LOCATED AND

ED BY THE SOUTH SALT LAKE POLICE DEPARTMENT.
THEY ARE SAFE. THANK YOU FOR YOUR ASSISTANCE.

THE

2ND SUSPECT/DRIg

Don't




issemination Screen

e Pre selected fields
cannot be changed.

e Who and where
AMBER Alert will
be disseminated to.

Dissemination

Save Amber Alert (UCJIS Database)”

UCJIS Alert Message (Law Enforcement)*

DPS Email List (DPS Admin)*

Back up Emergeny Alert System E-mail (Media) *

FEMA/IPAWS Emergency Alert System (Media -> Rad

FEMA/IPAWS Wireless Emergency Alert System (Public -> Cell Phones)*

Amber Alert Web Page (Public)*

DPS Twitter Accounts (Public)*

DPS Facebook Accounts (Public)*

Banner on utah.gov websites *




Preview Alert information :

Submit Status:

Emergency THIS IS A NON FAMILY ABDUCTION. THE
Alert System SUSPECT IS IDENTIFIED AS PETER NOBODY. HE
Message: IS 5 FEET 9 INCHES TALL. HE HAS BROWN HAIR
AND BROWN EYES AND ARROW TATTOO IN LEFT
FOREARM . HE WAS LAST SEEN WEARING BLUE

Wireless Emergency | NON FAMILY ABDUCTION. 123ABCD (UT), GRAY CHEVY MALIBU. SEE
Alerts Message: ALERT.UTAH.GOV

Wireless UTAH DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY: NON
Emergency FAMILY ABDUCTION. 123ABCD (UT), GRAY

Preview capability allows

Message:

you to see what has been
submitted.

“Preview Audio” to hear
message that will be
broadcasted.




Law Enforcement Sensitive Information

ABSOLUTELY NO Law Enforcement sensitive information should be
added to the AMBER Alert e.g. social security numbers, addresses,
sexual orientation, driver's license numbers or criminal history. If
such information needs to be shared please use a broadcast
message to share between agencies.




Submission Confirmation Response




Instant Notification Methods:

e Highway Signs.
e (ell phones (WEA).
e Emails.

e BCl's Website.

HMEB

EF HLEET
e LR

BCI WEBSITE




WEA

Email Notification (Media)

AMBER Alert now
Riverton Police Department: Child's Life In
Danger! 6E9KF (UT), black Chevrolet Spark.
Suspect is Brooklyn George who is 52" 160
lbs red hair brown eyes. Victim is Lyra Caldwell
who is 7 years old 3' 40 Ibs brown hair brown
eyes. Check local media or see alert.utah.gov

UTAH AMBER ALERT ACTIVATED

UCJIS_MESSAGE_SYSTEM@utah.gov




BCI Website
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Utah AMBER Alert Issued

Non Family Abduction




Victim #1

Suspect #1

Vehicle #1

HEIGHT
WEIGHT
HAIR
EYES

CLOTHING.TEST CLOTHING




Utah AMBER Alert: Modify / Cancel

UAAM




Modify / Cancel

o UAAM

e Select active AMBER Alert.

e Make necessary changes/updates.

e When canceling alert please use the remarks field to update the cancellation
e.g. ‘The AMBER Alert for _______is being cancelled. Child has been located

safely. Thank you”.
o This is required



UCJIS Home

Results X

View [PAWS

View IPAWS

View IPAWS

View [PAWS

View IPAWS

View [PAWS

View IPAWS

UAAML x

Abduction Date

Amber Alerts

Issued Date

Issued ORI

*Make sure to click the correct option.




Modify / Cancel

e You will use the same process even if you have to modify the Alert several times.

e Each agency is responsible for entering, modifying and canceling their AMBER Alert.

o |f for any reason you are unable to modify or cancel the Alert, please contact CIC for
assistance @ 801-965-4446.
o Take screenshots and document errors for BCI to follow up on.

e Alert does not automatically expire, please remember to go back and cancel once
child has been located.



Cancel Response:

RESPONSE




Utah AMBER: NCIC



NCIC Entr

e [t’s not mandatory before issuing the AMBER Alert, but the abducted child should
already be entered into NCIC, or be entered as soon as possible.

e (A (child abduction) should be added in the MNP field until the AMBER Alert is issued.
o (Once issued it should be modified to AA.
o The caveat will read: AMBER Alert issued for this child.

e Suspect is always to be listed as Wanted, not Missing.
o Ifyou do not have a warrant for the Suspect, enter them using the Temporary Felony option.



NCIC Entry

**+*AMBER ALERT***ISSUED FOR NIC/MXXXXXXXXX***AMBER ALERT**

***MESSAGE KEY QU SEARCHES WANTED PERSON FILE FELONY RECORDS REGARDLESS OF
EXTRADITION AND MISDEHEANOR RECORDS INDICATING POSSIBLE EXTRADITION FROM THE

MKE /MISSING PERSON EMDA2

MEDICATION REQUIRED

ORI/UTBCIOOO0 NAM/TEST,IMA SEX/F RAC/U POB/UT DOB/1l926021L
HGT /402 WGT/098 EYE/BLU HAI/BLN

MNP /AM DLC/20090528 OCA/TEST1Z3

ORI IS UT BU CRIM IDENT SALT LAKE 435 835-2345
NIC/MS80030731 DTE /20090528 1238 EDT DLU/20090528 1238 EDT

[END OF RECORD




NCIC Entry: AA Code

e AAcode in NCIC does not change the procedures or protocols for activating an
AMBER Alert.

e Provides a method of alerting law enforcement to the status of the missing child.

e Generates immediate notifications to the FBI and the National Center for Missing and
Exploited Children aka NCMEC, enabling them to deploy resources when needed.



NLETS: Request for out of state AMBER Alert

If the child is known to be out of state already, an AMBER alert should not
be issued in Utah, instead the agency has the option of issuing an NLETS
alert.

e Child must have been entered into NCIC prior to NLETS alert being issued.

e NLETS alerts can only be sent by the CIC Help Desk upon request from Law
Enforcement agency, this request can be made by calling the CIC Help Desk at
801-965-4446.

o NLETS AMBER Alert can be issued to surrounding states or nationwide.
e (Qut of state AMBER Alert coordinator might request additional information.



Wireless Emergency Alerts

WEA



WEA

e Automatically sent out between 7A.M. and 10P.M.

e Blackout window from 10 PM. to 7 AM.

o (Ganbe requested under special circumstances.
o Must be approved by the commissioner.
o If child has not been located by 7 A.M agency can request CIC to send WEA message.

e Will only be sent out once.
o |f modification is made information on AMBER Alert will be automatically updated.



AMBER Review

Mandatory




AMBER Review

e |[f your agency issues an AMBER Alert, you will be contacted by BCI for an AMBER Review.

e Review attendees.
o  AMBER Alert Advisory Steering Committee:

o DPS Communications, BCl management, AMBER Alert coordinators, Media Broadcasters Association, TOC.
o Issuing Law Enforcement Agency.

e AMBER Review.

o  Reviewing events that led up to issuance of the AMBER Alert.

o  Did it meet the criteria?

o (Case summary (Including but not limited to time frames, location where child was located, assisting agencies, and charges
filed)

o Were there any issues?

o Any suggestions to make the process better?



AMBER Alert Resources




AMBER Alert Resources

e Utah CART Team:
o Utah CART Team is available at your disposal if your agency issues an AMBER Alert.

o They can assist your agency with logistic, intel, investigation, etc.
o They are available 24/].

e NCMEC

o Will be automatically notified once missing person is changed to AA in NCIC.
o 1-800-the-lost (1-800-843-5618).

e JSIAC’s Automatic License Plate Recognition System (ALPR)
o If your agency needs assistance locating a vehicle you can contact SIAC at their on call

number 801-965-3838.



Agency Responsibilities

e FEach agency is responsible for issuing their own AMBER Alert.

o If needed, agency can contact the dispatch center, communications center or records department to enter the AMBER
Alert information in UCJIS.

e Should have an established protocol to govern their use of the Amber Alert Plan within the agency’s
child recovery plan.

e Train all law enforcement personnel for their agency on the AMBER Alert criteria and notification
Process.

e Must agree to designate correct personnel who have the authority to issue the AMBER Alert, and to
abide by the established criteria and activation procedure and all other components of the plan.

o Must agree to meet with the AMBER Alert Advisory Committee for a review to go over the timeline and
answer any questions following an AMBER Alert.



O

Call CIC before
issuing AMBER
Alert.

Call CIC if you

need assistance,

modifying or
canceling alert.

7"

Do not enter exact
location of abduction.

Do not wait for WEA to
be approved during
blackout window to
issue Alert.

If you do not have the
information, do not
guess.

Cannot issue an AMBER
Alert with no known
information on victim
(Name, age, etc)




Agency Reminders

e Mandatory to call DPS CIC at 801.503.5566 and notify BCI that an AMBER Alert is
being issued BEFORE the alert is sent out, and when it's being canceled.

o This number is for AMBER Alerts only.

e FEach agency is responsible for entering, modifying and canceling their own AMBER
Alert through UCJIS.

e Only pertinent information that will assist the media and the public in the recovery
should be added to the AMBER Alert.

e Alert will stay active until it is cancelled, it does not automatically expire.
* For assistance call DPS CIC at 801.965.4446 *



& So what if criteria is not met for AMBER Alert ?






Endangered Missing Advisory Alert

e Disseminates to media and law enforcement.
e Applies to any missing or endangered person that does not meet AMBER criteria.
e For a person or people of any age that requires urgency due to the circumstance.

However...

It cannot be over used!



EMA Guidelines

e Person is missing.

o Family believes circumstances are suspicious.

e Person in danger.
o Age.
o Health.
o Mental Disability.
o Environment.
o Weather conditions.

o Accompanying dangerous person.



Who qualifies for an Endangered Advisory Alert?

Runaways.

Internet enticed.

Missing college students.

Persons that have wandered away from care facilities.
Overdue travelers (weather).

Autistic individuals.



Endangered Advisory Alert Protocol

e (ontact DPSCIC at 801-965-4446 to let them know the EMA is
being issued.
e Enter using EMA transaction in UCJIS.

e Your EMA will go out to all law enforcement so you can add any
and all information that they may need.

e [Does not automatically expire and needs to be canceled regardless
of the outcome.



Endangered Missing Alert Entry

Originating Agen

ORI:*

Destination(s): * Nothing selected

Message:* (I E JAN 04

ALLLAWT
ALLMIKE
BCITEST




Select “All Law”

Under message

Originating Agen

ORL:*

Destination(s): *

Message:*

ENDANGERED M

Endangered Missing Alert Entry

Destination{s): *

Message: *




EMA Dissemination

e All Utah law enforcement receive the EMA.
e Media signed up will receive it.
e No TOC signs.
o TOC can and will activate signs if warranted/serious.
e No email or cell phones will be activated.



Keep in mind

BCI quality controls the EMA for LE sensitive information and only takes out
information that the media should not have unless released by the PIO (we do
not remove any information that goes out to law enforcement).

Driver’s License Numbers
Social Security Number
Home phone numbers
Home addresses



All in all EMA applies for..

Breezy Otterson 1/ and Riley Powell 18

Justin Bailey
Autism

Larry Caplinger
Dementia and Schizophrenia

ENDANGERED PERSON

... JUSTIN BAILEY

! ' * Age 20

5 & 510" 120 Ibs.

i« Dark Brown Hair

"+ Hazel Eyes

. Wearing: Gray T-shirt, Levis
Black Shoes with White Writing
Possibly a Baseball Cap.

Billy Webb - 2010
Overdue Traveler







Silver Alert: ESA

o Disseminates to media and law enforcement.
e Requires the usage of highway signage in the geographical area where the
person went missing.
o |f Law Enforcement feels more signage is necessary contact DPS CIC Help Desk to make
the request.
e Applies to anyone over the age of 60 and Individuals with Dementia or
Alzheimer's of any age.
e Mandatory if the situation fits the circumstance.




Contact DPSCIC at 801-965-4446 to let them know the ESA is being issued.
Enter using ESA transaction in UCJIS.

Your ESA will go out to all law enforcement so you can add any and all information that
they may need.

Does not automatically expire and needs to be canceled regardless of the outcome.



Silver Alert Entry

Endangered Silver Alert Entry
Authorization

ORI: *

Contact phone number:

*

*Do NOT activate a Silver Alert if you cannot answer Yes to one of the questions below.

**This message will immediately go to law enforcement and the media.

Is this believed to be an adult over 60 years of age?: * Oves | ONo

Is this believed to be an adult under 60 years of age with Oves | ONo
dementia?:*




Endangered Person's Information

Name: *

Age:*

Height: = Weight:

Eye Color: * Hair Color: *

Gender: * Race: *

Clothing:

Medical Needs:

Last Known
Location: (Be
specific, give
address if
possible)*

Description: *

Resident City: * P Resident
County:*

Destination: (Be
specific, give
address if
possible)

Time of last
known location:




Vehicle Information - If vehicle in use or suspected

Vehicle
Information:

License Plate
Number:

Vehicle Year:

Vehicle Make:

Vehicle Model:

Vehicle Color:

License Plate
State:

Vehicle Style:

Avoid Abbreviationsl!

Avoid Abbreviations!

Avoid Abbreviations!






UMPQ Transaction

e Utah Missing Persons Query

e This database stores all missing person entries listed in the State of Utah
o Active and inactive
o User friendly
o Narrow and broaden search



Missing Persons & Unidentified FAQ’s

e (uestion:

“How can | add a Missing Person to the Utah Missing Persons website?”

o Answer:

You will need to submit a Missing Person Waiver to the Clearinghouse. This can be found
on the BCl Website bci.utah.gov/missing-person-waiver/



https://bci.utah.gov/missing-persons/

Criteria for Entry into the Utah Missing Persons Bulletin

The following guidelines must be met before information on a missing or unidentified
deceased/living person can be entered into the Utah Missing Person Clearinghouse
Bulletin/Web Site.

MISSING PERSON (Information on a Utah missing person or a person missing from
another state but believed to be in Utah.)

The parent, spouse or guardian must contact a law enforcement agency and file a
missing person report. The missing person must be entered into the National Crime
Information Center (NCIC) files by the law enforcement agency.

A "Missing Persons Clearinghouse Report Form" must be signed, completed and ] . .
returned to the Utah Missing Person Clearinghouse, Department of Public Safety, 3888 I f t d C t f

W 5400 S , Box 148280, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-8280. Forms can be obtained from n 0 rm a IO n a n rl e rl a 0 r
the Clearinghouse.

A current original photograph (color preferred) must be received by the Utah Missing Entry Wi I I be fO u nd 0 n the ﬁ rSt

Person Clearinghouse. (Note: Do not write on the back of the photo.)

All information must be approved by the law enforcement agency receiving the initial page Of the Wal‘,e r'

missing person report.

The Utah Missing Person Clearinghouse personnel will obtain permission to publish a
law enforcement phone number to contact in the event the person is located, or possible
sighting information is received by the Utah Missing Person Clearinghouse.

In cases of parental abductions, a copy of the court-certified custody order stating that
the reporting parent has custody must be received by the Utah Missing Person
Clearinghouse. (Note: If it is requested that the non-custodial parent=s photograph be
included in the bulletin, an active felony warrant must be present in National Crime
Information Center (NCIC) prior to publication of the photograph). Confirmation by the
investigating officer must be obtained.

The parent, spouse, guardian or investigating officer must notify the Utah Missing
Person Clearinghouse immediately of the location or return of the missing person.




UTAH MISSING PERSON CLEARINGHOUSE REPORT FORM/WAIVER

Be very specific, the more accurate and complete the information, the better the chances of identification.

AGENCY INFORMATION

MISSING PERSON

LOCAL AGENCY HANDLING CASE LOCAL AGENCY CASE NUMBER:

NAME: (LAST, First, Middie)

ALIASINICKNAMES:

SEX: RACE: PLACE OF BIRTH: ({

(City, State, County) DATE OF BIRTH: | AGE

STREET ADDRESS: CITY/STATE/ZIP:

HEIGHT: WEIGHT HAIR COLOR:

EYE COLOR: BUILD: DRIVERS LICENSE NUMBER:

INVESTIGATING OFFICER:S NAME PHONE NUMBER

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: HAIR LENGTH:

HAIR STYLE COMPLEXION:

OTHER INFORMATION

UNIQUE CHARACTERISTICS (Scars, Limp, Tattoos, Jewelry, Glas:

ses, Etc)

DENTAL RECORDS AVAILABLE?
oYES BNO aYES anNO

MEDICAL RECORDS AVAILABLE? FINGERPRINTS AVAILABLE? BLOOD TYPE:
oyl oNO

OTHER PERTINENT INFORMATION (Attach addtional sheets, if needed, include any information regarding person’s disappearance that may assist in the
recovery of the person. If the person has been missing before, indicate where and how recovered)

MEDICAL PROBLEMS? O YES ONO  TYPE OF PROBLEM:

INSTRUCTIONS

PRESCRIPTIONS:

MENTAL STATE (Depressed, Suicidal, etc.)

LOCATION LAST SEEN (Include City, State)

DATE/TME OF LAST CONTACT POSSIBLE DESTINATION (City, State)

LAST SEEN WEARING:

HOBBIES AND INTERESTS(Dancing. Swimming, Surfing
Fishing, etc.)

ASSOCIATIONS & HANGOUTS (Country Bars, Video Arcades, Bowling Alleys, Skating
Rinks, etc ):

INCIDENT TYPE:
O RUNAWAY  © PARENTAL ABDUCTION o ENDANGERED

O INVOLUNTARY ©CDISABLED © DISASTERVICTIM 0 UNKNOWN

IMPORTANT INSTRUCTIONS APPLICABLE ENCLOSURES
The completed Report Form should be signed by the
parent/guardian/spouse and mailed along with the applicable
enclosures to: In cases of parental abductions, a copy of the court-
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY certified custody order stating that the reporting parent
gg;”; :';';;;NG PERSON CLEARINGHOUSE has custody must be enclosed. (NOTE: If it is
requested that the non-custodial parent:s photograph
SALFEAKE CITY-UT 241148260, be included in the bulletin, a copy of the court-certified
Toll Free Hotine: (888) 770-6477 active felony warrant, which is presently in NCIC must
(801) 281-5075 be made available to Utah Missing Person
Clearinghouse prior to publication of the photograph.)

Current photograph of the missing person.

SUSPECT INFORMATION

IN COMPANY OF
0 NON CUSTODIAL PARENT  © ABDUCTOR o FRIEND

NAME: (LAST, First, Middle)

ALIASMAIDEN NAME:

SEX: RACE PLACE OF BIRTH: DATE OF BIRTH.

LAST KNOWN ADDRESS (Street, City, State, Zip)

AGE:

HEIGHT: WEIGHT I HAIR COLOR:

EYE COLOR: SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:

DRIVERS LICENSE NUMBER (Include state)

OCCUPATION:

UNIQUE CHARACTERISTICS (Scars, Limp, Tattoos, Jewelry, Glasses, Etc.)

VEHICLE

MODEL VEHICLE YEAR:

TYPE/STYLE. COLOR: LICENSE LICENSE YEAR
NUMBER: OF EXPIRATION:

The undersigned of

(Print name and relationship: parent, spouse, legal quardian, etc.) {Print name of the missing person)
hereby requests that his/her name, age, description, photograph (enclosed), and circumstances surrounding his/her missing status
be published and circulated by any method subscribed to by the investigating agency or the Utah Department of Public Safety,
Missing Person Clearinghouse, which includes, but is not limited to, dissemination to the public, other law enforcement agencies,
hospitals, social services, children:s shelters, medical examiners and/or other agencies involved with missing persons.

Itis further understood and agreed that any and all information supplied by me shall be truthful, and | agree to hold harmiess the
Utah Department of Public Safety for any errors of omission or commission occasioned by misinformation | may supply.

I agree to hold harmless any agency or department using transmitting, or distributing this i ion for any errors
occasioned by misinformation | may supply and to indemnify the Utah Department of Public Safety, all law enforcement agencies,
or other organization:s individuals, and contacts or sources of information, and undertake to hold harmless said entities from and
against all legal liabilities, including defendants- cost for suits, claims, actions or damages that the reported missing person might
prosecute against them.

I agree to notify the Utah Missing Person Clearinghouse and the investigating agency of any updated, new or additional
information concerning, the missing person and/or his whereabouts and of any changes in my address or telephone number. |
further agree that a photostatic copy of this authorization has the same effect as the original.

LICENSE STATE: DESCRIPTION (Other identifying charactesistics, noticeable damage, accessories, VIN)

X
(Printed name of Parent/Guardian/Spouse) (Signature of Parent/Guardian/Spouse) (Date)

THIS BOX FOR THE USE OF THE UTAH MISSING PERSON CLEARINGHOUSE

EARENELGHARMANSEOUSE DATE DATE NIC NUMBER WEB PAGE VERIFIEDWITH | DATE CLEARED: | MISSING PERSON PACKET
PARENT/GUARDIAN/SPOUSE NAME; (LAST, First, Middie) RELATIONSHIP: RECEIVED: CONFIRMED: UPDATED: AGENCY: FILLED OUT:

STREET ADDRESS: PHONE (Home & Work):

NOTE TO PARENT/GUARDIAN/SPOUSE CAREFULLY READ AND STATEMENT ON THIS FORI
—————————————— e ————




Missing Persons & Unidentified FAQ’s

e (uestion:

“My agency added a Missing Person to NCIC, why aren’t they showing up on the Missing
Persons Clearinghouse website?”

o Answer:

Missing Persons NCIC entries are not automatically entered into the Missing Persons
website, the Missing Person waiver needs to be submitted to the Clearinghouse in order to
have the Missing Person listed on the website.



Missing Persons & Unidentified FAQ’s

e (uestion:
“If | receive evidence with DNA, where do | send it?”
e Answer:

You will submit any DNA evidence (such as a toothbrush) to the Crime Lab.



Missing Persons & Unidentified FAQ’s

e (uestion:
“How do | enter an Unidentified in NCIC?”
e Answer:

Unidentified persons can only be entered by BCI. Contact Ofa Vaisima
(ovaisima@utah.gov) or Alex Martinez (mmartinez@utah.gov) to enter an Unidentified in
NCIC.



Ofa Vaisima

ovaisima@utah.gov or
385-499-1421

Alex Martinez

mmartinez@utah.gov or
385-499-5500




